
Alcohol and Other Drug Treatment Services

Mental Health Services

Mailing Date: 10/20/2008

This notice is being sent to inform you that a change in state law and policy will reduce your Ohio Medicaid
health care benefits effective November 1, 2011. Because you are enrolled in Ohio Medicaid, you can receive
alcohol and other drug and/or mental health treatment services if you have a medical need for them. Some of
these services are provided by community alcohol and other drug treatment programs certified by the Ohio
Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services and community mental health agencies certified by the
Ohio Department of Mental Health. The alcohol and other drug treatment services are: ambulatory
detoxification, assessment, case management, crisis intervention, group counseling, individual counseling,
intensive outpatient, laboratory urinalysis, medical/somatic and methadone administration. The mental health
services are: group and individual counseling, diagnostic assessment, crisis intervention, community
psychiatric supportive treatment (CPST), pharmacologic management, and partial hospitalization.

The following new service limits are authorized by Ohio Revised Code section 5111.02. The specific changes
to Medicaid mental health, alcohol and other drug benefits will be detailed in Ohio Administrative Code
sections 5101:3-27-02 and 5101:3-30-04.

Beginning November 1, 2011, Ohio Medicaid will set a combined weekly limit of thirty (30) hours for the
following four (4) services: case management, group counseling, individual counseling and medical/somatic.
This means that adults can receive no more than thirty hours of any combination of these four services in the
same week. Children (up to age 21) may receive more if your alcohol and other drug service provider
documents that you have a medical need for more services. A week is defined as Sunday through Saturday.
There will be no weekly limits placed on the other alcohol and other drug services, listed above.

Beginning November 1, 2011, Ohio Medicaid will begin to set annual limits for all of the mental health
services except for crisis intervention. The benefit year will run from July 1 to June 30 except for the first
benefit year which will be November 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012.

On the next page is a chart that explains the annual benefit limits for each Mental Health Service.
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Medicaid Mental Annual Limit Exceptions to Annual Limit
Health Service (July 1 - June 30)

Requesting a State Hearing

Counseling 52 hours per year No exceptions for adults. Children (up to age 21) may
receive more if your mental health provider documents
you have a medical need for more services.

Diagnostic Assessment 2 hours per year No exceptions for adults. Children (up to age 21) may
(performed by a medical receive more if your mental health provider documents
doctor) you have a medical need for more services.
Diagnostic Assessment 4 hours per year No exceptions for adults. Children (up to age 21) may
(performed by someone other receive more if your mental health provider documents
than a medical doctor) you have a medical need for more services.
Partial Hospitalization 60 days per year You may receive more of this benefit if your mental

health provider documents you have a need for more
service and requests prior authorization.

Community Psychiatric 104 hours per year You may receive more of this benefit if your mental
Supportive Treatment health provider documents you have a need for more
(CPST) service and requests prior authorization.
Crisis Intervention No Limit N/A
Pharmacologic 24 hours per year No exceptions for adults. Children (up to age 21) may
Management receive more if your mental health provider documents

you have a medical need for more services.

If you think the new weekly limits for alcohol and other drug treatment services or the annual limits for mental
health services are being incorrectly applied to your case, you can ask for a State Hearing. A State Hearing lets
you or your representative (lawyer, welfare rights worker, friend or relative) give your reasons against this
action. Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) staff will attend or be represented at the hearing
to present our reasons for the action. A Hearing Officer from ODJFS will decide who is right.

If you want to request a State Hearing, follow the directions on pages 3 and 4 of this notice. If someone else
makes a written hearing request for you, it must include a written statement, signed by you, telling us that the
person is your representative. We must get your request for a State Hearing no more than 90 days after the
mailing date of this notice.

You can ask your local Legal Aid program for free help with your case. Call the Ohio Poverty Law Center at
1-800-589-5888 if you need the local phone number. You can also call Ohio Legal Rights Services at
1-800-282-9181 or TTY at 1-800-858-3542.

If you have any questions about this notice, please call the Medicaid Consumer Hotline at 1-800-324-8680 or
TDD 1-800-292-3572. Remember to mention this notice. You can get more information about these changes
on the Internet at:
http://www.mh.state.oh.us/assets/medicaid/cost-containment-faqs.pdf

The benefit changes listed above will only take place if they are approved by the Federal Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services and supported by Ohio laws.
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You may request a State Hearing in any of the following ways:

1. Mail the enclosed request to:
Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
Bureau of State Hearings
P.O. Box 182825
Columbus, Ohio 43218-2825

2. Fax the enclosed request to ODJFS Bureau of State Hearings at 614-728-9574.

3. Send an E-mail to the ODJFS Bureau of State Hearings at bsh@jfs.ohio.gov. Please include your name,
address, telephone number, tell us why you are requesting a hearing, and remember to mention this notice.

4. Telephone the ODJFS Consumer Access Line at 1-866-635-3748 (1-866-ODJFS-4-U) and follow the
instructions for State Hearings. You must make the phone call yourself. No one can call for you.
Remember to mention this notice.
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Mail, E-Mail or FAX to:

Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
Bureau of State Hearings

P.O. Box 182825
Columbus, Ohio 43218-2825

Fax: 614-728-9574
E-mail: bsh@jfs.ohio.gov

I think the limitation of Medicaid Community Alcohol and Other Drug Treatment and/or Community
Mental Health benefits is being incorrectly applied to my case.

Sign here: Date:

Phone: ( )

Print Name: Medicaid Case Number:

I want a State Hearing because:

My Authorized Representative is:

Name: Phone: ( )

Address: Fax: ( )

E-mail:
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State Hearing Request

Sign and fill in the blanks.

Optional: Complete this if someone else has already agreed to represent you (a lawyer, social
worker, friend, relative, etc.). If someone later agrees to represent you, tell us then.
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